AI note takers for financial advisors

How we make money: No link on this page earns us anything right now. We may join companies' affiliate programs, and our affiliate disclosure lists any we've joined. If a link on this page ever pays us, it will be marked "(paid link)" and this box will name the companies that pay us. We haven't tested these products hands-on. Features and prices come from each vendor's own pages, checked 2026-10-26 and linked in Sources.

Advisors picking a note taker in public r/CFP threads we read kept asking the same few things: Will compliance sign off on it? Does it write notes and tasks back into Redtail, Wealthbox or Salesforce, or just email a summary? Does it keep a recording, or only notes? And how does the client get asked? Some also said the notes they got were too wordy, or that action items were caught on some calls and missed on others.

A note taker won't make your firm compliant. It can help you keep a record of client meetings. What your firm must keep, how, and for how long is your chief compliance officer's call, and your broker-dealer may limit which tools you can use at all.

Quick answer

Comparison (as of 2026-10-26)

Each cell is the vendor's own claim from the page in Sources. "Not stated" means we didn't find it on the pages we read, not that the vendor doesn't offer it. Rows are in alphabetical order, not ranked.

ToolCRM write-back (per vendor)Archive connections (per vendor)Recording and retention (per vendor)Price (per vendor)
GRemindersRedtail and Wealthbox on Essentials; Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, SmartOffice and Advyzon on Business. You edit the summary, then log it as a new note or attach it to an existing activitySays it supports "compliance archiving through Smarsh, Veritas, and Global Relay". Which notetaker outputs are archived: not statedKeeps recordings and transcripts "per YOUR preferences"; admins set transcript and video retentionEssentials "starts at $69 / month"; Business "starts at $132 / month" (per-user and billing period not stated)
JumpRedtail (notes and follow-up tasks; Jump says it is "fully embedded inside Redtail CRM"), Wealthbox (CRM fields after meetings), Salesforce including "Financial Services Cloud support" (notes to Contacts, Accounts and supported custom objects; field updates)"Global Relay, Smarsh, or Proofpoint" (the outputs your firm selects)Capture mode "No Recording" or "Recording". Storage policy: keep audio/video and transcripts, keep transcripts only, or keep nothing, with separate deletion delaysMeet (the notetaker product) $100 per advisor/mo billed annually or $120 monthly. Other products sold separately
Wealthbox AI NotetakerBuilt into Wealthbox. Drafts a summary, follow-up email and task ideas on the meeting page; proposed CRM updates are shown for you to approve before anything is writtenPricing page lists a feature called "Compliant Note Archiving" (not described further; ask Wealthbox what's archived and where)Wealthbox's help page (updated October 1, 2026) shows actions to "download or delete the transcript". Its October 20, 2026 announcement adds admin settings to "Automatically delete transcripts after a specified number of days" and says "manual transcript deletion is disabled by default". Ask Wealthbox which applies to your account. Recording retention: not statedPaid add-on to a Wealthbox plan (CRM plans from $59/user/mo). Check Wealthbox for current add-on pricing.
ZocksLists HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Practifi, Redtail, Salesforce, SmartOffice, Wealthbox, XLR8 and AdvisorEngine; "Update any CRM record directly from a meeting"Smarsh, Proofpoint and Global Relay, "so you can archive and supervise transcripts the same way you handle emails""No meeting recordings". In its Zoom Recording mode it "briefly accesses" Zoom's recording to make a transcript, "then deletes it". Customizable retentionEssentials $67/user/mo annual or $80 monthly; Professional $117 or $140; Ultimate $184 or $220
General toolsCRM write-back (per vendor)Archive connectionsPrice (per vendor)
FathomSalesforce, HubSpot and Close; no Redtail or Wealthbox on its integrations page (checked 2026-10-26)None of Smarsh, Global Relay or Proofpoint on its integrations page (checked 2026-10-26)Premium $16/mo annual or $20 monthly
FirefliesLists Redtail and Wealthbox. Its Redtail page says it syncs notes to the contact and creates tasks, and that "New meeting participants are automatically added as contacts in Redtail" (checked 2026-10-26)None of the three on its integrations page (checked 2026-10-26)Pro $10/seat/mo annual or $18 monthly; Business $19 or $29
OtterSalesforce and HubSpot (see our CRM page); no Redtail or Wealthbox on its integrations page (checked 2026-10-26)None of the three on its integrations page (checked 2026-10-26)Pro $8.33/user/mo annual or $16.99 monthly; Business $19.99 or $30

Deals change often; check the vendor's site.

What we didn't check: which plan each general tool needs for its CRM connections, whether any archive vendor can pull from Fireflies, Fathom or Otter some other way, and GReminders' and Wealthbox's exact archive setup. Ask the vendor and your compliance team before you rely on it.

How to pick

Books and records, carefully

This is general background, not legal or compliance advice. It only quotes the rules; whether they cover your notes is a question for your compliance team or a securities lawyer.

Recording laws: tell people first. Federal law and most states let you record a conversation you're part of. About 11 states, including California, Florida, Illinois, Pennsylvania and Washington, generally require everyone's consent, and a few states mix the rules. Oregon, for example, requires that everyone in an in-person conversation be told it's being recorded, while phone calls need one person's consent (RCFP guide, ORS 165.540). If people are in different states, the stricter law may apply. Rules outside the US differ too, and many employers, schools and clinics have their own policies. A meeting bot showing up in the participant list is a notice, not consent. The same goes for a "this call may be recorded" greeting: it may not tell people that an AI service is transcribing or summarizing the call, so name the AI note taker when you ask. This is general information, not legal advice. If you're unsure, ask a lawyer where you live.

A simple way to ask. Start recording first, so your announcement is captured on the recording (Washington law requires that). Then say:

"Quick heads-up: I'd like to record this and use an AI note taker to transcribe it, so I don't miss anything. The recording and notes are stored with [tool name]. Is everyone OK with that?"

Wait for a clear yes from each person. If anyone says no, stop and delete what you captured. For meetings with outside guests, also put a line in the invite: "This meeting may be recorded and transcribed by an AI note taker. Let me know beforehand if you'd prefer it isn't."

What we did and didn't do

We read the vendor pages and the SEC and FINRA pages below on 2026-10-26. We didn't sign up for any tool, connect any CRM or archive, or record any meeting, so we can't confirm how these features work in practice. The reader needs above come from two public r/CFP threads we read in October 2026; we don't quote, link or name anyone.

Sources (checked 2026-10-26)

Changes