Which AI note takers log notes to HubSpot or Salesforce, and where the notes land
How we make money: No link on this page earns us anything right now. We may join companies' affiliate programs, and our affiliate disclosure lists any we've joined. If a link on this page ever pays us, it will be marked "(paid link)" and this box will name the companies that pay us. We haven't tested these products hands-on. Prices and features come from each vendor's own pages, checked 2026-10-25 and linked in Sources.
"Syncs with HubSpot" can mean a lot of different things. In the public Reddit threads we read (r/hubspot and r/salesforce), a few complaints came up: notes that land on the contact but not the deal, syncs that only work through Zapier, and summaries pushed by hand after every call. This page is about the details the plan tables skip: which record the notes land on, what has to match for the sync to fire, and which plan you need.
For plan prices, per-seat math and recording caps, see AI note takers for sales calls and CRM sync. This page goes one level deeper.
Quick answer
- You want notes on the HubSpot deal, not just the contact: Fathom, Fireflies, Otter, Granola and Bluedot all say they can attach notes to HubSpot deals. Otter says the contact has to be linked to the deal first, and Fathom and Otter both match people by email address.
- You use Salesforce Leads, not just Contacts: Fireflies says it logs to Leads, Contacts or Opportunities and can create new Leads. Fathom's admin guide says it does not match against Leads at all.
- You want specific CRM fields filled in: Fathom (Business and Enterprise) and Otter both describe mapping summary sections into text fields on the HubSpot deal or Salesforce Opportunity. Both say an admin on both sides has to set it up.
- You're on Granola and use Salesforce: Granola's pricing page lists HubSpot on Business, but Salesforce only on Enterprise.
- You'd rather not add another app: HubSpot has its own notetaker, but its help page lists the meeting notetaker as a beta on Sales Hub or Service Hub Professional or Enterprise. Salesforce's pricing FAQ lists conversation intelligence among the features in its Sales Cloud Core plan.
Where the notes land (per vendor, as of 2026-10-25)
| Tool | HubSpot: where notes go (per vendor) | Salesforce: where notes go (per vendor) | Plan that lists it (per vendor) | What has to match (per vendor) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fathom | Call summary under the Meeting event on the contact; action items can become HubSpot tasks. Deal fields on Business and Enterprise | A logged Task with the summary on the matched Contact, plus Account and open Opportunity. Leads aren't supported; closed Opportunities are skipped | Pricing table lists "CRM syncs" ("Max 3 users/ domain" on lower plans) and "CRM field sync" on Business. Fathom's own pages disagree on whether Free includes CRM sync; see AI note takers for sales calls | External attendee's primary email; meeting on your main calendar; internal-only calls don't sync |
| Fireflies | Notes, summaries and action items to contacts, companies and deals; can create new contacts or leads; can transcribe HubSpot Dialer calls | Leads, Contacts or Opportunities; can create new Leads; can resync past meetings | Fireflies' Free plan help says all integrations are on Free | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Otter | Contacts and Deals pages, with a link to the full conversation. Shows on the deal only if the contact is linked to the deal | Not checked for this page beyond the edition rule below | Pro lists "Salesforce*, HubSpot*, Zapier integrations", "*subject to user limits". Manual export to HubSpot is Enterprise only, per Otter's help | Recorded from a calendar event with at least one guest outside your domain, and the contact already exists in HubSpot |
| Granola | A HubSpot Meeting (default) or Note, linked to the contact, company or deal you pick, or auto-shared from a folder | Not checked; listed as an "Advanced integration" | HubSpot on Business ($14/user/mo, billed monthly); Salesforce on Enterprise (from $35/user/mo) | Attendee emails must match existing HubSpot contacts or companies; needs a Google Workspace or Microsoft 365 account, not personal Gmail or Outlook.com |
| Bluedot | "Send meeting notes and insights straight to HubSpot, keeping deals and contacts fully updated" | "Auto-sync meeting notes, transcripts, and action items to Salesforce" | Business only ($32/user/mo annual or $39 monthly) | Not stated on the pages we read |
Deals change often; check the vendor's site.
What the sync needs before it works
These come from the vendors' own setup guides. If one of them isn't true, the vendors say the notes may not show up where you expect.
- The person has to exist in your CRM first, under the same email. Fathom matches on the external attendee's primary email and says secondary emails on the record aren't used. Otter and Granola also match by email. Fireflies says it can create the contact or lead for you instead.
- The call has to be on a calendar. Fathom's guides say impromptu calls without a calendar event, and events on secondary calendars, don't sync. Otter says the conversation must come from a calendar event with an outside guest.
- Internal calls usually don't sync. Fathom and Otter both describe syncing only meetings with someone outside your company's email domain.
- Deals need a link to the contact. Otter says its notes show on a HubSpot deal only if the contact is linked to that deal. Fathom says Salesforce deal info only syncs to an open Opportunity the Contact is linked to through a contact role, and closed deals are skipped.
- Old calls don't backfill on their own. Fathom says it syncs calls going forward; older calls are pushed one at a time. Granola says folder auto-sharing only covers notes added after you turn it on. Fireflies says it can resync past meetings.
- Field mapping is an admin job on both sides. Fathom says HubSpot deal-field mapping needs someone who is both a Fathom Account Admin and a HubSpot Super Admin, and it supports HubSpot text properties. Otter says its custom-field mapping needs an Otter workspace admin who is also a CRM admin, and maps only to HubSpot deal or Salesforce Opportunity text fields. Fathom's Salesforce guide says a mapped field is overwritten with the latest summary after each new meeting. Otter lets the admin choose write-if-empty, overwrite or append.
- Your Salesforce edition matters. Fathom says Salesforce needs the REST API, standard on Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited and Developer editions. Otter's help says its Salesforce integration needs Sales Cloud on the Enterprise, Unlimited or Developer edition.
Do you need Zapier?
- Not for these five on the plans named above. Each lists its own HubSpot and Salesforce connection (Granola's Salesforce connection is Enterprise only).
- Zapier shows up on lower plans. Otter Pro lists Zapier alongside its CRM integrations. Bluedot lists Zapier and Make on every plan but CRM integrations only on Business. Granola lists Zapier on Business. We didn't check whether a Zapier route can write to the deal record the same way. Ask the vendor or try it before you rely on it.
HubSpot's and Salesforce's own options
- HubSpot notetaker: HubSpot's help page says recording and transcript sync is available with Sales Hub or Service Hub Professional or Enterprise. Its meeting notetaker for Google Meet, Teams and Zoom is listed as a beta you opt into (HubSpot Knowledge Base, updated September 8, 2026), and needs an assigned Sales or Service seat and a connected calendar. HubSpot says that since August 31, 2026, meetings recorded with its notetaker or synced from a video app create meeting records only. HubSpot also says connected video apps can still sync audio and transcripts even if HubSpot's own recording setting is off. We couldn't read HubSpot's prices today (its pricing page didn't load its price data).
- Salesforce: Salesforce's Sales Cloud pricing page lists Core at $195/user/month, billed annually, and its pricing FAQ lists "conversation intelligence" among the features included in Sales Cloud Core (checked 2026-10-25). We didn't look at how that feature works or whether it can replace a separate note taker.
How to pick
- Lead-heavy Salesforce team: check Lead support first. Fireflies says it logs to Leads; Fathom says it doesn't.
- Deal-centric HubSpot team: check that the tool writes to deals and what it needs (Otter needs the contact linked to the deal). If you want specific deal properties filled in, look at Fathom Business or Otter's mapping, and plan for an admin to set it up.
- You want it automatic: Granola can auto-share from a folder; Fathom, Fireflies and Otter describe syncing after each eligible call.
- You run many calls with no calendar invite: several of these won't sync those calls. A dialer-based option (Fireflies says it transcribes HubSpot Dialer calls) or HubSpot's own calling may fit better.
- Customers on Teams who block bots: see AI notes in Microsoft Teams and note takers that don't send a bot.
- Getting it approved at work: see getting an AI note taker approved by IT.
Privacy and consent
Recording laws: tell people first. Federal law and most states let you record a conversation you're part of. About 11 states, including California, Florida, Illinois, Pennsylvania and Washington, generally require everyone's consent, and a few states mix the rules. Oregon, for example, requires that everyone in an in-person conversation be told it's being recorded, while phone calls need one person's consent (RCFP guide, ORS 165.540). If people are in different states, the stricter law may apply. Rules outside the US differ too, and many employers, schools and clinics have their own policies. A meeting bot showing up in the participant list is a notice, not consent. The same goes for a "this call may be recorded" greeting: it may not tell people that an AI service is transcribing or summarizing the call, so name the AI note taker when you ask. This is general information, not legal advice. If you're unsure, ask a lawyer where you live.
A simple way to ask. Start recording first, so your announcement is captured on the recording (Washington law requires that). Then say:
"Quick heads-up: I'd like to record this and use an AI note taker to transcribe it, so I don't miss anything. The recording and notes are stored with [tool name]. Is everyone OK with that?"
Wait for a clear yes from each person. If anyone says no, stop and delete what you captured. For meetings with outside guests, also put a line in the invite: "This meeting may be recorded and transcribed by an AI note taker. Let me know beforehand if you'd prefer it isn't."
- Syncing to a CRM copies the notes again. Once a summary lands in Salesforce or HubSpot, it's stored there too, under your CRM's own retention and access rules. Check who on your team can see those records. If someone asks you not to record, delete the CRM copy too, not just the recording.
- Disconnecting doesn't clean up. Fathom and Otter both say that disconnecting the integration leaves already-synced notes in HubSpot. If you need something gone, delete it in the CRM as well.
- Auto-created records hold people's details. If a tool creates new contacts or leads from meeting attendees (Fireflies says it can), those people are now in your CRM. Check that fits your company's rules before you turn it on.
What we did and didn't do
We read the pricing pages, help articles and integration pages below on 2026-10-25. We didn't connect any of these tools to a CRM, so we can't say how well the sync works. The reader needs above come from public r/hubspot and r/salesforce threads we read in October 2026; we don't quote, link or name anyone.
Sources (checked 2026-10-25)
- Fathom HubSpot help (edited October 2, 2026; Meeting event, tasks, deal fields on Business and Enterprise, matching rules, disconnect): https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/448832
- Fathom Salesforce admin guide (edited June 3, 2026; Contact, Account, open Opportunity; no Leads; edition and REST API; Deal View on Business): https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/448640
- Fathom pricing (CRM syncs, CRM field sync): https://www.fathom.ai/pricing
- Fathom HubSpot integration page: https://www.fathom.ai/integrations/hubspot
- Fireflies HubSpot integration page (contacts, companies, deals; new contacts or leads; HubSpot Dialer): https://fireflies.ai/integrations/crm/hubspot
- Fireflies Salesforce integration page (Leads, Contacts, Opportunities; resync): https://fireflies.ai/integrations/crm/salesforce
- Fireflies Free plan help (integrations on Free): https://guide.fireflies.ai/articles/4027724828-learn-about-the-fireflies-free-plan
- Otter help, Connect HubSpot with Otter.ai (updated October 15, 2026): https://help.otter.ai/hc/en-us/articles/19439009788951-Connect-HubSpot-with-Otter-ai
- Otter help, CRM Integration: Sync Insights to Custom Fields (updated June 5, 2026): https://help.otter.ai/hc/en-us/articles/29730579913751-CRM-Integration-Sync-Insights-to-Custom-Fields
- Otter help, Connect Salesforce with Otter.ai (Sales Cloud editions): https://help.otter.ai/hc/en-us/articles/15671309340183-Connect-Salesforce-with-Otter-ai
- Otter pricing (Pro integrations, user-limit footnote): https://otter.ai/pricing
- Granola HubSpot help (Meeting or Note, folders, email matching, Workspace or Microsoft 365 account): https://docs.granola.ai/help-center/sharing/integrations/hub-spot
- Granola pricing (HubSpot on Business, Salesforce on Enterprise): https://www.granola.ai/pricing
- Bluedot integrations (HubSpot, Salesforce): https://www.bluedothq.com/integrations
- Bluedot pricing (CRM on Business; Zapier and Make on all plans): https://www.bluedothq.com/pricing
- HubSpot Knowledge Base, Sync conversation transcripts into HubSpot (updated September 8, 2026): https://knowledge.hubspot.com/calling/sync-conversation-transcripts-into-hubspot
- Salesforce Sales Cloud pricing (Core at $195/user/month billed annually; Sales Cloud Core plan FAQ): https://www.salesforce.com/sales/pricing/
- RCFP recording guide: https://www.rcfp.org/introduction-to-reporters-recording-guide/
- Oregon ORS 165.540: https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_165.540
Changes
- 2026-10-25: page first written. CRM rules, plans and prices checked on the vendor pages in Sources.
- 2026-10-25: Review fixes. Fathom plan cell now uses its pricing table wording only; Salesforce line uses plan wording only; HubSpot beta dated inline; Fathom help-page dates added to Sources.
- 2026-10-26: standard consent block now adds that a "this call may be recorded" greeting may not tell people an AI service is transcribing or summarizing the call.