Phone-call note takers: iPhone vs Pixel vs apps

How we make money: No link on this page earns us anything right now. We may join companies' affiliate programs, and our affiliate disclosure lists any we've joined. If a link on this page ever pays us, it will be marked "(paid link)" and this box will name the companies that pay us. We haven't tested these products hands-on. Features and prices come from Apple's, Google's and each vendor's own pages, checked 2026-10-27 and linked in Sources.

Most AI note takers are built for Zoom, Teams and Google Meet. A regular phone call is different: your phone's own calling system handles it, and most third-party apps can't hear it. So for phone calls, the first question is what your phone already does, and only then which app to add.

This page describes what each product does, in its maker's words. It isn't legal advice.

Quick answer

Comparison (as of 2026-10-27)

Each cell is the maker's own claim from the page in Sources, read 2026-10-27. "Not stated" means we didn't find it on the pages we read, not that it doesn't exist. Rows are in alphabetical order, not ranked.

OptionPhones and places (per maker)How it gets the call (per maker)Notice to the other person (per maker)Where the notes are kept (per maker)Price (per maker)
Apple iPhone Call Recording + NotesiPhone. Calls with one other person "in some countries and regions". Not available in the European Union and other listed places. Transcripts "in select regions and languages". Summaries need Apple Intelligence (iPhone 15 Pro, 15 Pro Max, iPhone 16 or later)Built into the Phone app: tap Call Recording during the call"Both call participants hear an audio notice that the call is being recorded."Notes app, Call Recordings folder. Transcript and Apple Intelligence summary in the same note. "Deleting the audio recording also deletes the transcript."$0
Fireflies desktop appMac: "Supports iPhone calls" with Calls from iPhone turned on. Windows: "Supports both Android and iPhone calls" through Phone LinkCaptures your computer's system audio, no bot. The phone app itself is for in-person recording, live meetings and uploadsFireflies calls these "consent" options: an audio "consent message" about 10 seconds after you start, a chat message (Mac) and an on-camera "AI Taking Notes" watermark, which it says are "enabled by default" in its first-use prompt. They're notices, not consent.Fireflies. "System audio mode does not save separate audio or video files."Free plan; Pro $10/seat/mo annual or $18 monthly
Google Pixel Call NotesPixel 9 and later, not A series. Australia, Canada, Ireland, UK, US (English); Japan (Japanese); Pixel 10 in India (Hindi and English). Needs a SIM from that countryPhone app, Call Assist > Call Notes during the call; can turn on automatically for chosen contacts or non-contacts"When you activate this feature on the call, the participants are notified."On the phone: summary in the call log, plus the full transcript and recording. "Your call contents are stored on your device and aren't shared with Google." Auto-delete setting$0
Google Phone app Call RecordingPixel 6 and up on Android 14 and up; other Android phones on Android 9 and up. "Only certain devices and carriers support recording calls." Not in all countriesPhone app, record one call or "Always record" chosen numbers"both parties are notified with a disclosure that the call is being recorded", and again when it stopsPixel: "stored on your device. Calls aren't saved or backed up off-device." Deleting the call log deletes the recording. No transcript described on this page$0
Google Voice "Take notes for me"Voice Standard and Premier (including Voice Standard for personal Gmail accounts), not Starter. Web, Android, iOS. "This feature is available only in English."Tap Notes during a Voice call. Admins can turn on automatic notes for incoming, outgoing or all callsAll parties hear "This call is being recorded and captured by AI", or a custom message set by an adminEmail to the person who started it, plus the Voice call logVoice Standard $20/user/mo or Premier $30/user/mo for teams, plus a Google Workspace plan (team prices from Google's Voice page, read 2026-10-27)
Granola for iPhoneiOS only; 40 countries and regions on Granola's list (our count, 2026-10-27), including the US, Canada, UK and many EU countriesOutbound only: you place the call from the Granola app; the other person sees your own number. "Granola can't transcribe inbound calls at the moment."Not stated on Granola's phone-call help pageGranola notes a few minutes after the callBasic $0 (30 days of history); Business $14/user/mo
OtteriPhone and Android appsDoesn't record phone calls directly: "calls must be recorded separately and imported into Otter". A live Otter recording "will pause during a phone call"Whatever your phone's own recorder doesOtter, after you import the fileBasic $0 (3 lifetime file imports); Pro $8.33/mo annual or $16.99 monthly (10 imports a month)
Plaud NoteCard on the back of your phone"Switch between phone call and in-person recording modes"Not stated on the product pagePlaud app and Plaud WebDevice $159, includes 300 min/mo AI transcription

Deals change often; check the vendor's site.

Not for phone calls, per their own help: Fathom's iPhone app ("Phone calls cannot be recorded"). Google's Recorder app on Pixel is for recordings you make with the app; the Recorder help pages we read don't describe recording phone calls.

Language settings matter on iPhone and Pixel

Read the summary before you rely on it

Apple: "Verify the accuracy of a transcription before relying on it. It might not be a perfect representation of the conversation." Google calls Recorder summaries "AI-generated". AI summaries can get dates, numbers and names wrong, so check anything you'll act on, like a date you're about to put in your calendar.

On the phone or in the cloud?

How to pick

Recording laws: tell people first. Federal law and most states let you record a conversation you're part of. About 11 states, including California, Florida, Illinois, Pennsylvania and Washington, generally require everyone's consent, and a few states mix the rules. Oregon, for example, requires that everyone in an in-person conversation be told it's being recorded, while phone calls need one person's consent (RCFP guide, ORS 165.540). If people are in different states, the stricter law may apply. Rules outside the US differ too, and many employers, schools and clinics have their own policies. A meeting bot showing up in the participant list is a notice, not consent. The same goes for a "this call may be recorded" greeting: it may not tell people that an AI service is transcribing or summarizing the call, so name the AI note taker when you ask. This is general information, not legal advice. If you're unsure, ask a lawyer where you live.

Built-in notices tell people; they don't ask. Apple says "Both call participants hear an audio notice that the call is being recorded", and that before you record you should "make sure the other call participant is willing to be recorded" (Apple, checked 2026-10-27). Google says Call Notes notifies participants and Call Recording plays "a disclosure that the call is being recorded". A notice tells people. It doesn't mean they agreed. Ask, and wait for a yes.

What we did and didn't do

We read the Apple, Google and vendor pages below on 2026-10-27. We didn't record any call, install any app or buy any device, so we can't confirm how these features work in practice, how accurate they are, or how the notice sounds.

Sources (checked 2026-10-27)

Changes