Plaud NotePin vs Plaud Note vs Note Pro: pin or card?
How we make money: No link on this page earns us anything right now. We may join companies' affiliate programs, and our affiliate disclosure lists any we've joined. If a link on this page ever pays us, it will be marked "(paid link)" and this box will name the companies that pay us. We haven't tested these products hands-on. Prices and features come from each vendor's own pages, checked 2026-10-25 and linked in Sources.
Plaud sells two shapes of recorder. The pins (NotePin and NotePin S) clip to you and only record in-person audio. The cards (Plaud Note and Note Pro) ride on the back of your phone and can also record calls. All four use the same plans, so the choice comes down to the shape, whether you need phone calls, and $30 between the lowest and highest listed device prices.
Quick answer
- You need phone calls recorded: pick a card. Plaud says neither pin records phone calls. Plaud Note needs its magnetic case on your phone for calls; Note Pro switches between calls and in-person on its own (per Plaud).
- You mostly talk to people in person and want hands free: a pin. NotePin is $159; NotePin S is $179 and Plaud says it can be worn four ways.
- Big rooms: Plaud lists the longest pickup range on Note Pro (16.4 ft vs 9.8 ft on the other three).
- Longest recording on one charge: Plaud lists 30 hours on both cards (50 on Note Pro in Endurance mode) and 20 hours on both pins.
- Plans cost the same on every device. The device price is the only difference in the 2-year math.
Side by side (as of 2026-10-25)
| Plaud NotePin | Plaud NotePin S | Plaud Note | Plaud Note Pro | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Listed price | $159 | $179 | $159 | $189 |
| Shape (per Plaud) | Wearable pin, clips to a collar or shirt | Wearable; Plaud says "worn four ways" (lanyard, wristband, clip or pin) | Credit-card-sized; attaches to your phone with a magnetic case | Credit-card-sized; magnetic case; small AMOLED display |
| Phone calls | No (in-person audio only, per Plaud) | No (in-person audio only, per Plaud) | Yes, with the magnetic case on your phone; you switch modes by hand | Yes; Plaud says it switches between calls and in-person on its own |
| Microphones (per Plaud) | Not stated on the pages we read | Not stated on the pages we read | 2 MEMS mics plus 1 VCS (vibration) sensor | 4 beamforming MEMS mics |
| Pickup range (per Plaud) | 9.8 ft | 9.8 ft | 9.8 ft | 16.4 ft |
| Recording time (per Plaud) | Up to 20 hours | Up to 20 hours | Up to 30 hours | 30 hours (50 in Endurance mode) |
| Weight (per Plaud) | 0.59 oz | 0.61 oz | 1.06 oz | 1.06 oz |
| In the box (per Plaud) | Pin and clip; lanyard and wristband sold separately | Four wearable accessories (lanyard, wristband, clip and pin) and a charging cable | Magnetic case, magnetic ring and charging cable | Magnetic case, magnetic ring and charging cable |
| Free plan | Starter, 300 min a month | Starter, 300 min a month | Starter, 300 min a month | Starter, 300 min a month |
Plaud says every device needs a paired phone and an internet connection for transcription. Deals change often; check the vendor's site.
Same plans on every device
| Plan | Annual | Monthly | Transcription (per Plaud) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | Included with the device | Included | 300 minutes a month |
| Pro | $99.99/yr | $17.99/mo | 1,200 minutes a month |
| Unlimited | $239.99/yr | $29.99/mo | "Up to 24 hours per day" |
For how minutes, top-ups and the new Plaud Credits work, see Plaud pricing explained.
Two-year cost math
Arithmetic on the listed prices above, one user, before tax and shipping, no top-ups or credits. Not a measured result. Bundles are Plaud's device-plus-annual-plan store bundles, with the second plan year added at its annual price.
| Setup | NotePin | NotePin S | Plaud Note | Note Pro |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter only | $159 | $179 | $159 | $189 |
| + Pro annual | $348.98 with Plaud's bundle, $358.98 bought separately | $378.98 | $348.98 with Plaud's bundle, $358.98 bought separately | $388.98 |
| + Unlimited annual | $628.98 with Plaud's bundle, $638.98 bought separately | $658.98 | $628.98 with Plaud's bundle, $638.98 bought separately | $668.98 |
How we got them: device price plus 2 x the annual plan, or the bundle price plus one more year. NotePin and Plaud Note bundles list at $248.99 (Pro) and $388.99 (Unlimited). NotePin S bundles list at $278.99 and $418.99, and Note Pro bundles at $288.99 and $428.99, which match buying separately.
Which shape fits how you talk
- Desk and phone days: a card. It stays on your phone, so it's there for calls and for meetings where the phone sits on the table.
- On your feet all day (site visits, rounds, shop floor): a pin. It's lighter and doesn't need your phone in your hand to start. Plaud says NotePin starts with a press of its pressure-sensitive button, and NotePin S uses a long press to record and a short press to mark a moment.
- Big conference rooms: Plaud lists the widest pickup on Note Pro. We haven't tested pickup ourselves.
Comparing with other brands? See Plaud Note vs Pocket, Pocket pricing, Plaud alternatives and the buying guide.
Privacy and consent
Recording laws: tell people first. Federal law and most states let you record a conversation you're part of. About 11 states, including California, Florida, Illinois, Pennsylvania and Washington, generally require everyone's consent, and a few states mix the rules. Oregon, for example, requires that everyone in an in-person conversation be told it's being recorded, while phone calls need one person's consent (RCFP guide, ORS 165.540). If people are in different states, the stricter law may apply. Rules outside the US differ too, and many employers, schools and clinics have their own policies. A meeting bot showing up in the participant list is a notice, not consent. The same goes for a "this call may be recorded" greeting: it may not tell people that an AI service is transcribing or summarizing the call, so name the AI note taker when you ask. This is general information, not legal advice. If you're unsure, ask a lawyer where you live.
A simple way to ask. Start recording first, so your announcement is captured on the recording (Washington law requires that). Then say:
"Quick heads-up: I'd like to record this and use an AI note taker to transcribe it, so I don't miss anything. The recording and notes are stored with [tool name]. Is everyone OK with that?"
Wait for a clear yes from each person. If anyone says no, stop and delete what you captured. For meetings with outside guests, also put a line in the invite: "This meeting may be recorded and transcribed by an AI note taker. Let me know beforehand if you'd prefer it isn't."
- Tell people. A pin on your shirt or a card on your phone is quiet and easy to miss, so people won't know unless you say so. In all-party consent states, and for in-person talks in places like Oregon, recording without telling everyone can be a crime.
- Health or legal work: A device isn't automatically covered by a BAA.
What we did and didn't do
We read Plaud's store data and product listings on 2026-10-25 for prices, bundles and the specs Plaud publishes. We didn't buy or use any of these devices, so nothing here is about sound quality, comfort or how accurate the transcripts are.
Sources (checked 2026-10-25)
- Plaud store product data (device, plan and bundle prices, product descriptions with specs): https://www.plaud.ai/products.json
- Plaud NotePin: https://www.plaud.ai/products/plaud-notepin
- Plaud NotePin S: https://www.plaud.ai/products/plaud-notepin-s
- Plaud Note: https://www.plaud.ai/products/plaud-note
- Plaud Note Pro: https://www.plaud.ai/products/plaud-note-pro
- Plaud AI Membership FAQ (plans): https://support.plaud.ai/hc/en-us/articles/57724862694937-Plaud-AI-Membership-FAQ
- RCFP recording guide: https://www.rcfp.org/introduction-to-reporters-recording-guide/
- Oregon ORS 165.540: https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_165.540
Changes
- 2026-10-25: page first written. Prices, bundles and specs checked in Plaud's store data in Sources.
- 2026-10-25: Review fixes. In-the-box cells for Plaud Note and NotePin S now match Plaud's product pages; intro price line reworded.
- 2026-10-26: standard consent block now adds that a "this call may be recorded" greeting may not tell people an AI service is transcribing or summarizing the call.